<span class="highlight">Dubbo</span> to Broken Hill

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 06:08
ThreadID: 51471 Views:5217 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
Morning all,
I am looking for an overnight stop between Dubbo and Broken Hill. I have stayed at Wilcannia & Cobar before and I would like suggestions for somewhere out of town. Self sufficient camps spots are not a worry.

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:22

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:22
Morning Blue

You were up early mate.

There are a couple of rest stops between Cobar and Wilcannia that are used for o/niters. There is also Emmdale fuel stop on the same stretch and the Little Topar fuel stop is the other side between Wilcannai and the Hill

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 271023

Follow Up By: Member - Franga (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:55

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:55
John is there anything at Poopelloe Lake between Cobar & Willcania

Franga
FollowupID: 534019

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 13:31

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 13:31
Franga,

I wondered about that too and looked it up on google but got nothing. The Paroo/Darling NP site says that visitors are welcome to the park but no camping facilitie but it doesn't say no camping.

Hope you get an answer from someone who knows.

Viv
FollowupID: 534061

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 09:30

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 09:30
G'day blue one, do youself a favour, and make the diversion from Wilcannia out to White Cliffs. Beautiful road, one of the best out west (Sealed ) we towed our 18 footer out there in Sept this year on our way back from Broken Hill to Coonabarabran. Fantastic but basic Caravan Park, honour system to pay, and coin op hot water. We loved it, and if you are there on a Friday night, join in the local ritual miners night out at the cafe for a great feed, and you will meet some great people. That night was worth the trip out alone. A few roos and emus and cattle to watch out for, but thats the go everywhere, isn't it. Try it mate, you won't be disapointed.
AnswerID: 271038

Follow Up By: blue one - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:15

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:15
So they finally sealed the road, is the solar power station still there?

I did hear a rumour that it had been demolished.

FollowupID: 534083

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:36

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:36
The solar station is still there, at least we saw the infrastructure, not sure if it is operational or not. I don't know when the road was sealed, but it is a pleasure to drive on. Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 534085

Reply By: disco1942 - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:35

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:35
There are heaps between Cobar & Broken Hill, Lost count of them coming through the other day. None of them has provision for heading out the back into the bush to get away from the road. I think there are 3 between Little Topar & Wilcannia, 5 between Wilcannia & Cobar and one near Mt Boppy - just before Cobar - all with dunnies and only a couple of others without them. For exact directions get yourself a copy of Camps Australia Wide (or review it in a book shop, news agent or camping shop.) We found that it listed all of them as we passed them last Monday. Can't give you exact details right now the book is over in the caravan.

AnswerID: 271063

Reply By: blue one - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:12

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:12
Thanks very much to all for your help
AnswerID: 271089